BulletRage: How difficult is too difficult?

Soul blisteringly difficult changes may be good for the hardcore fans, but we did not want to make BulletRage unplayable for everyone else. We needed a fun difficulty system that players of all skill levels could enjoy, all without watering down the experience.

The 5 difficulty levels ranges from Normal, Hard, Insanity, Ultra Insanity to Beyond Infinite ∞. There are many game variables that changes based on the difficulty level and how many active players are in the party. Each difficulty level was carefully calibrated with a different gameplay experience in mind. Some of the highest combo tiers will only be possible at higher difficulty modes.

Difficulty levels breakdown:

  • Normal: Great for the more casual players who want a fun and interesting gameplay experience.
  • Hard: For those who loves games that will make them sweat and feel like a badass doing it.
  • Insanity: For the gamers who welcome pain and anguish with a big smile on their face.
  • Ultra Insanity: For the battle hardened reflex honed gamers who are out for blood.
  • Beyond ∞: A love letter to the hardcore gamers who are seeking the ultimate challenge.

Difficulty Level Score Multipliers

To reward players for playing at higher difficulty levels, the regular score counters and the large bonuses are influenced by what difficulty level is being played.  Many score bonuses also stack with the score multiplier as well, so at high difficulty levels and with a high current score multiplier, your highscore can get quite high. (more to come in another post about the score multiplier)

The Indiana Jones Factor

The traps in BulletRage are also affected by the difficulty level. Since traps are a large part of the challenge within BulletRage, it originally felt like something was off when the enemies got tougher at higher difficulties, but the traps did not. Now, the traps will be sure to provide an exciting challenge at the higher difficulty levels.

Post a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.